0.0 (0)


0.0 (0)

0.0 (0)


0.0 (0)

0.0 (0)


0.0 (0)

0.0 (0)


0.0 (0)

Clubs with a Bye

Matthew Payne in action for Aspley. Photo: TJ Yelds/NEAFL

Three-time winner Matthew Payne joins NEAFL MVP leaders

A familiar face has joined the race for the NEAFL MVP Award with three-time winner Matthew Payne entering the top 10 leaderboard for the first time this season.

The Aspley champion polled nine votes in the Hornets’ 36-point win over Redland to add further intrigue with only two weeks to go before voting is withheld from the public.

It comes after Sydney young gun James Rowbottom (32 disposals, seven clearances) took over outright first place, attracting six votes after 32 disposals and seven clearances in the Swans’ loss to the GIANTS.

The 18-year-old leads the pack by five votes over Southport midfielder Tyler Roos, who moved to second after polling four votes against Canberra.

Meanwhile, Brisbane midfielder Ryan Bastinac polled the maximum 10 votes in the Lions win over Gold Coast, running riot with 38 disposals, 13 marks, six inside 50s and one goal.

Sydney University defender Adam Gulden was also awarded 10 votes after starring against NT Thunder with 36 disposals, 11 marks, four clearances and 11 rebound 50s.

The NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 12 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.


Gold Coast v Brisbane
10: Ryan Bastinac (Brisbane)
8: Ryan Lester (Brisbane)
5: Keidean Coleman (Brisbane)
3: Callum Ah Chee (Gold Coast)
2: Allen Christensen (Brisbane)
1: Matt Eagles (Brisbane)
1: Caleb Graham (Gold Coast)

Aspley v Redland
9: Matthew Payne (Aspley)
9: Will Gowers (Aspley)
5: Craig Malone (Redland)
5: Jake Spencer (Aspley)
1: Matt Hammelmann (Redland)
1: Tom Templeton (Aspley)

Sydney University v NT Thunder
10: Adam Gulden (Sydney Uni)
8: Abraham Ankers (NT Thunder)
5: Jake Bartholomaues (Sydney Uni)
5: Josh Stern (Sydney Uni)
1: Ben Rioli (NT Thunder)
1: Jacob Templeton (NT Thunder)

Southport v Canberra
9: Seb Tape (Southport)
5: Rhys Clark (Southport)
4: Tyler Roos (Southport)
3: Alex Smout (Canberra)
3: Angus Baker (Canberra)
2: Jed Turner (Southport)
2: Ryan Davis (Southport)
1: Mackenzie Willis (Southport)
1: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)

Sydney v GIANTS
7: Sam Wicks (Sydney)
6: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
5: Jackson Hately (GIANTS)
5: Jack Buckley (GIANTS)
3: Lachlan Keeffe (GIANTS)
2: Darcy Cameron (Sydney)
1: Zac Langdon (GIANTS)
1: Dawson Simpson (GIANTS)


42: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
37: Tyler Roos (Southport)
36: Matt Shaw (Southport)
34: Craig Malone (Redland)
33: Ryan Bastinac (Brisbane)
31: Alex Smout (Canberra)
31: Adam Gulden (Sydney Uni)
30: Angus Baker (Canberra)
28: Abraham Ankers (NT Thunder)
27: Matthew Payne (Aspley)

Don’t forget to download our free NEAFL App, featuring live Champion Data stats, player bios and more! Available now from the Google Play and Apple stores.

Have your say! Follow the NEAFL on Twitter (@neaflofficial), Instagram (@neaflofficial) and Facebook (

Related News

Get The App

The Official NEAFL App contains all the latest news and videos from the League and around the clubs. Keep up to date with live scores and live streaming, plus team and player stats as they happen throughout the game.


NEAFL is here to provide a stage for talented players to shine. Sweats and tears of excitement are what the players live for.