0.0 (0)


0.0 (0)

0.0 (0)


0.0 (0)

0.0 (0)


0.0 (0)

Match Time
05 Apr 2020 11:55 AM Local Time

Clubs with a Bye

Lachlan Squire in action for GIANTS. Photo: Keith McInnes/NEAFL.

Rd 18 NEAFL Rising Star Nominee: Lachlan Squire

GIANTS Academy member Lachlan Squire has earned the final NEAFL Rising Star nomination of the 2019 season after an outstanding performance against Sydney on Saturday.

It caps off a stellar year for the GIANTS Academy with a club record four nominees in one season, beating their previous record of two players in 2018.

Squire, 18, was outstanding in the GIANTS 14-point win against the Swans where he collected 25 disposals (14 contested), four clearances, four inside 50s and an impressive 13 tackles.

A member of the GIANTS Academy for a number of years, Squire is a Queanbeyan Tigers product who is also on the Canberra Demons’ list.

Squire has great ability in the air and at ground level and is also a versatile player who can run through the midfield as well as up forward.

He made his NEAFL debut last year and has added a further nine games to his tally in 2019, averaging 15 disposals, five tackles and five clearances per game.

Squire joins fellow GIANTS Academy members James Peatling, Tom Green and Harry Grant as nominees for the award this season.

The NEAFL Rising Star is awarded to the most promising young talent in the NEAFL competition.

Nominees must be under the age of 21 and played less than 20 senior games (excluding games as AFL club academy players) at the start of the 2019 season.

The winner will be announced at the NEAFL MVP Awards Ceremony on Sunday, August 25.

2019 NEAFL Rising Star Nominees

Round 1: Angus Baker (Canberra)
Round 2: Bailey Stewart (Sydney University)
Round 3: Keidean Coleman (Brisbane)
Round 4: Connor Owen-Auburn (Canberra)
Round 5: Fitzroy Greenwool (Gold Coast)
Round 6: Hewago Paul Oea (Gold Coast)
Round 7: James Peatling (GIANTS)
Round 8: Rhys Pollock (Canberra)
Round 9: Tom Green (GIANTS)
Round 10: Josh Stern (Sydney University)
Round 11: Harry Grant (GIANTS)
Round 12: Kieren Parnell (NT Thunder)
Round 13: Jamison Shea (Southport)
Round 14: Jarrod Osborne (Canberra)
Round 15: Harry Morrison (Sydney University)
Round 16: Kel Evans (Canberra)
Round 17: Connor Budarick (Gold Coast)
Round 18: Lachlan Squire (GIANTS)

Don’t forget to download our free NEAFL App, featuring live Champion Data stats, player bios and more! Available now from the Google Play and Apple stores.

Have your say! Follow the NEAFL on Twitter (@neaflofficial), Instagram (@neaflofficial) and Facebook ( 



Related News

Get The App

The Official NEAFL App contains all the latest news and videos from the League and around the clubs. Keep up to date with live scores and live streaming, plus team and player stats as they happen throughout the game.


NEAFL is here to provide a stage for talented players to shine. Sweats and tears of excitement are what the players live for.