0.0 (0)


0.0 (0)

0.0 (0)


0.0 (0)

Match Time
11 Apr 2020 12:00 PM Local Time

Match Time
11 Apr 2020 01:30 PM Local Time

Clubs with a Bye

NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award

 The NEAFL MVP Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 16 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.

The MVP Award was introduced in 2014 when the league changed from a two-conference format into a single competition.

In previous years the best-and-fairest player of the Northern Conference won the QAFL’s Grogan Medal and the best-and-fairest of the Eastern Conference took home ACT Canberra’s Mulrooney Medal.

The Grogan Medal was named in honour of longtime administrator J.A Grogan, who played a leading role in Australian Rules football growth from the mid-1920s.

Similarly, the Mulrooney Medal was named in honour of past president and life member John L. Mulrooney, for recognition of his valued service to Australian Football in Canberra.

Year Player Club Votes
2019Jake BartholomaeusSydney University73

Angus BakerCanberra68
2018 Matthew Payne Aspley 95
Darcy Cameron Sydney 87
2017 Jordan Keras Southport 78
Cameron Ilett NT Thunder 73
2016 Matthew Payne Aspley 87
Jordan Harper Canberra 86
2015 Tom Young Sydney University 86
Richard Tambling NT Thunder 85
2014 Matthew Payne Aspley 102
Aaron vandenBerg Ainslie 77

Get The App

The Official NEAFL App contains all the latest news and videos from the League and around the clubs. Keep up to date with live scores and live streaming, plus team and player stats as they happen throughout the game.


NEAFL is here to provide a stage for talented players to shine. Sweats and tears of excitement are what the players live for.